Schedule and assignments

Week 1

Tuesday, September 12 

Thursday, September 14 

Week 2

Tuesday, September 19

  • Mankiw, Chapter 2 (including the Appendix) – Thinking Like an Economist”
  • The Race to Solar Power Africa.” Bill McKibben. The New Yorker.  June 26, 2017.

Thursday, September 21 

  • Mankiw, Chapter 3 – Interdependence and Gains from Trade

Week 3

TuesdaySeptember 26

ThursdaySeptember 28

Friday, September 29: Problem set 1 due in my office by 5:00PM

Week 4

Tuesday, October 3 

EC155c – fall 2017 – week 3 and 4 slides

  • Mankiw, Chapter 6 – Supply, Demand and Government Policies (part 1)

Thursday, October 5

Week 5

Tuesday, October 10 

  • Mankiw, Chapter 7 – Consumers, Producers and the Efficiency of Markets

Thursday, October 12 

  • Review of material

Friday, October 13: Problem set 2 due in my office by 5:00PM

Week 6

Tuesday, October 17 – First midterm exam

Thursday, October 19 – NO CLASS

Week 7 (Fall break)

Tuesday, October 24 – NO CLASS (Fall break)

Thursday, October 26

  • Mankiw, Chapter 8 – Application: The Costs of Taxation

Week 8

Tuesday, October 31 

Thursday, November 2

Week 9

Tuesday, November 7

Thursday, November 9

  • Review of material in class

Friday, November 10

  • Required attendance of one of the three panels at the SIxth Annual International Politics and Economics Program Symposium:  “The United States and Global Trade: Winners, Losers and the Way Forward.”

Week 10

Monday, November 13: Problem set 3 due in my office by 5:00PM

Tuesday, November 14 – Second midterm exam 

Thursday, November 16

  • Mankiw, Chapter 13 – The Costs of Production

Week 11 (Thanksgiving week)

Tuesday, November 21

  • Review of the costs of production

Week 12 

Tuesday, November 28

  • Mankiw, Chapter 15 – Monopoly

ThursdayNovember 30

  • Mankiw,Chapter 16 – Monopolistic competition

Week 13

Tuesday, December 5

Thursday, December 7

  • Final review of material and course evaluations

Friday, December 8: Problem set 4 due in my office by 5:00PM

Final exam during exam period