Feed on


In terms of league scheduling, the 1990s NESCAC looks very similar to the NESCAC league today. The network of 11 schools, consisting of Amherst, Bates, Bowdoin, Colby, Connecticut College, Hamilton, Middlebury, Trinity, Tufts, Wesleyan, and Williams, had been gaining ground and prestige since the 1980s. As the 80s passed and the 90s approached, the conference solidified itself as a forceful presence in both the academic and athletic realm. The 1990s as a whole saw major developments in the NESCAC, but 1993 stood out as one of the most important years in NESCAC history: the year teams could participate in NCAA tournament play. Prior to 1993, Middlebury teams participated in the ECAC (Eastern College Athletic Conference) towards the end of their seasons. Once teams were eligible for NCAA play post-1993, teams only participated in the ECAC tournament if they did not receive a bid to the NCAA tournament. While NESCAC schools could participate in the NCAA post-season after 1993, the conference did not enter official “NESCAC Scheduling” until 1999, when the NESCAC created it’s own post-season tournament. With options for both the NESCAC and NCAA post-season tournaments after 1999, Middlebury no longer continued competing in ECAC tournament play.

Click here to read more about 1993

ECAC cropped-nescac.jpeg

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.