Feed on


Welcome to the history of the NESCAC league, at Middlebury. While exploring this page you will come across a timeline of the league, filled with pictures dating back to the formation of the NESCAC as well as featured articles and league policies. Many images showcase Middlebury athletes vs. their NESCAC opponents from 1970 to present day.

The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) was founded in 1971. The conference, which hosts schools from New England and New York, is a part of the NCAA Division III athletic conference, fielding a total of twenty-six sports. The NESCAC league consists of eleven liberal arts colleges and universities: Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, and Williams College. The NESCAC provides dependable rivalries among similar institutions, being praised by the press as “pure and simple.”

Click the pictures below to navigate through our history of the NESCAC

70s 80s
 90s Today

Screen shot 2013-01-25 at 10.43.28 AM

Special thanks to:




Erin Quinn – Middlebury College Athletic Director ’06-Present

Tom Lawson – Middlebury College Athletic Director ’77-’97

Sites DOT MiddleburyThe Middlebury site network.