Native Sovereignty

Borderland native people insist that they are sovereign nations because they signed treaties with settler colonial governments on a nation-to-nation basis.  Both Canada and United States interpret the treaty relationship differently.  The United States confers them the status of “domestic dependent nations”, while Canada refuses to honor some treaties because they were signed by the British Crown and not the Canadian government.