From the US Department of State: Applications for the 2010 Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program for overseas intensive summer language institutes in thirteen critical need foreign languages available soon. The on-line application for CLS Program awards will be available November 9, 2009, and the deadline to apply will be December 18, 2009.

Critical Language Scholarships (CLS) provide group-based intensive language instruction and structured cultural enrichment experiences for seven to ten weeks. Students may apply for one language, and will be placed at institute sites based on language evaluations after selection. The 2010 CLS Program will include new programs in Indonesian and Japanese.

Levels available for each language are as follows:
*Arabic, Persian: Advanced beginning, intermediate or advanced level;
*Azerbaijani, Bangla/Bengali, Hindi, Indonesian, Korean, Punjabi, Turkish, or Urdu: Beginning, intermediate or advanced level;
*Chinese, Japanese or Russian: Intermediate or advanced level.

Students of diverse disciplines and majors are encouraged to apply.  While there is no service requirement attached to CLS Program awards, participants are expected to continue their language study beyond the scholarship period, and later apply their critical language skills in their future professional careers.

For more information on the CLS Program, visit

Name (required)

Email (required)

Speak your mind