Cloud Computing for the Academic Institution

Submitted by Mike Roy

 

Henry Schaffer, Professor Emeritus of Genetics and Biomathematics and Coordinator of Special IT Projects and Faculty Collaboration – North Carolina State University

 

Sarah Stein, Associate Professor of Communication and Virtual Computing Lab (VCL)

Academic Outreach and Collaboration – North Carolina State University

 

Topic: Cloud Computing for the Academic Institution

Date: July 29, 2009

Time: 1:00 p.m. EDT (12:00 p.m. CDT, 11:00 a.m. MDT, 10:00 a.m. PDT).

 

International participants: You may wish to visit this external time-conversion website to calculate the start time in your time zone.  Duration: 1 hour

 

The Virtual Computing Lab (VCL) is a cloud computing solution that is designed to address the unique needs of academic institutions.  Computational resources for teaching faculty, students, and researchers require flexibility in order to be effective in diverse environments. The VCL enables this in an unprecedentedly affordable manner. This talk will present an overview of the VCL and discuss the computing resource problems that initiated it, the advantages and limitations of its use, and its pedagogical impact, as well as the economic implications of cloud computing.

 

The event is free, but registration is required and virtual seating is limited. REGISTER NOW.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>