Leadership

Associate Chaplain

Rabbi Ira Schiffer: ischiffe@middlebury.edu

Hille website - Rabbi Ira

Ira Schiffer is the Associate Chaplain/Rabbi at Middlebury College. He and his family arrived in Middlebury in June 2001 after a five-year adventure living in the north of Israel, where Ira was involved with community building and Arab-Jewish coexistence programs. Prior to that, he served congregations in Newark, Delaware and Baltimore, Maryland for a period of nineteen years.

Ira’s rabbinic training was at the Reconstructionist Rabbinical College; he holds a Master’s degree in the History of Religions from Brown University.

In addition to his work as Hillel Rabbi, Ira works with the students, faculty and staff of the College in supporting religious life on campus and building bridges of understanding among the diverse groups that make up the Middlebury community.

Complementing his work at the College, Ira serves as Director of Education for Havurah: The Addison County Jewish Congregation.

 

Presidents

Sarah Cohen ’15: srcohen@middlebury.edu

10559724_10152259435081109_7496390796540257357_n

Sarah is a president.  She is a Religion major with an Arabic minor. In her spare time, she enjoys long walks on the beach with her Poodle, Mazel, who is the companion of a life time. Her upper west side/west palm beach Bubbe alter ego is Bessie. More fun facts coming soon.

 

Molly Kaminsky ’15: mkaminsky@middlebury.edu

1485110_10201979596634151_7661816557929773006_n

Molly is a president and senior hailing from Short Hills, New Jersey. She is Biochemistry major with a minor in Mathematics, and plans on taking a gap year before heading off to Medical School. In her spare time, Molly enjoys playing rugby with the Middlebury College Women’s Rugby Club, composing music on the piano, and making bad puns. Her upper west side/west palm beach Bubbe alter-ego is Myrtle.

Tzedek chairs

Shelby Friedman ’16

Shelby is a junior from Dallas, TX majoring in political science. During her time at Middlebury thus far, Shelby has explored Israeli culture through her Hebrew studies, a year-long residency in the Hebrew language house, and a stint as Hillel Israel Chair. This year, Shelby is excited to take on her new role as Tzedek chair while she also explores local, sustainable foods at Weybridge House.

Meals chair

Aviva Shwayder ’16 : ashwayder@middlebury.edu

My name is Aviva Shwayder and I am super excited to be a meal chair with my co JEN LIFHITS AND ELANA SCHRAGER. I am from Ann Arbor, Michigan, reppin’ the Midwest. When I first came to Middlebury, Hillel quickly became a home of wonderful friends with whom I could practice my Judaism, schmooze, and eat good food. When not studying or at Hillel, I enjoy running through Vermont’s beautiful landscape, playing the piano, and SALSA dancing.

Elana Schrager ’17: eschrager@middlebury.edu

Jen Lifhits ’15: jlifhits@middlebury.edu

Academic chair

Aliza Cohen ’17: acohen@middlebury.edu

Rituals Chair

David Yedid ’15: dyedid@middlebury.edu

Secretary

Abbie Spector ’17: aspector@middlebury.edu

Israel chair

Andrew Holtz ‘16.5: aholtz@middlebury.edu
 Treasurer

Ilana Gratch ‘16.5: igratch@middlebury.edu

Social Chair

Willie Goodman ’16: wgoodman@middlbury.edu

Master of the Web

Zak Fisher ’16: zfisher@middlebury.edu

Freshman Liaisons

Sara Dohan ’17: sdohan@middlebury.edu

Noah Liebmiller ’17: nliebmiller@middlebury.edu