Leadership

Presidents

Josh Berlowitz ’16: jberlowitz@middlebury.edu

photo

Josh is a Hillel co-president. He’s a Classics & Political Science joint major from Westchester, NY (#JONY). He likes to eat brisket and matzah ball soup, so you know he’s Jewish and stuff. He’s also a Disney addict and a huge NY Rangers and Dallas Cowboys fan.

 

 

2

Sarah Cohen ’15: srcohen@middlebury.edu

Religion Major, Arabic Minor

Newton, MA

Tie: Her great aunt’s noodle kugel and Hillel home made challah (thanks meals chairs)!

Sarah’s Bubbe alter ego is Bessie Cohen. She lives in the Upper West Side when it’s warm and flies down south to West Palm Beach during the winter. She wishes good health and mazel upon all the nice Jewish boys and girls!

Sarah is a co-president.  She is a Religion major with an Arabic minor. In her spare time, she enjoys long walks on the beach with her Poodle, Mazel, who is the companion of a life time. Her upper west side/west palm beach Bubbe alter ego is Bessie.

Associate Chaplain/Rabbi

Rabbi Ira Schiffer: ischiffe@middlebury.edu

Hille website - Rabbi Ira

Ira Schiffer is the Associate Chaplain/Rabbi at Middlebury College. He and his family arrived in Middlebury in June 2001 after a five-year adventure living in the north of Israel, where Ira was involved with community building and Arab-Jewish coexistence programs. Prior to that, he served congregations in Newark, Delaware and Baltimore, Maryland for a period of nineteen years.

Ira’s rabbinic training was at the Reconstructionist Rabbinical College; he holds a Master’s degree in the History of Religions from Brown University.

In addition to his work as Hillel Rabbi, Ira works with the students, faculty and staff of the College in supporting religious life on campus and building bridges of understanding among the diverse groups that make up the Middlebury community.

Complementing his work at the College, Ira serves as Director of Education for Havurah: The Addison County Jewish Congregation.

Tzedek Chair

Stuart Green ’16: sagreen@middlebury.edu

Meals Chairs

IMG_3751

Alison Kraner ’18: akraner@middlebury.edu

Major: Undeclared

Hometown: Potomac, Maryland

Pets: Two dogs

Favorite Jewish Dish: Latkes

Elana Schrager ’17: eschrager@middlebury.edu

Jen Lifhits ’15: jlifhits@middlebury.edu

Academic Chair

Screen Shot 2015-02-18 at 6.37.56 PM

Aliza Cohen ’17: acohen@middlebury.edu

Major: Sociology

Hometown: Cha

Chattanooga, TN (Signal Mountain, TN if we’re being precise)

pets: Zespi, cat; I used to have a fish named Oscar Pesto Cohen but it died, though it lived a long, fruitful life

favorite Jewish food: crispy latkes with both apple sauce and sour cream in the same bite; this is not explicitly Jewish but it kinda is…I love a good white fish salad sandwich with homemade pickles (here’s one of the best places to find one: http://www.katzingers.com/); my grandmother’s maror also may be the best in the entire world

fun fact: A couple of years ago, I ran head-on into a pole and it really made a huge dent in my forehead and nose. I still haven’t discovered if my nose has always looked this Jewish or if the pole gave me a Jewish nose by leaving a bump on it.

Rituals Chair

IMG_20150217_202248

Josh Goldenberg ’18: jgoldenberg@middlebury.edu

Major:  undecided, but Pre-Med.

Hometown:  Roslyn, NY.

Pet: Rory is my baby, forever and ever.

Favorite Jewish Dish: Kugel

Secretary

1500788_10152101294950908_122197701_o

Abbie Spector ’17: aspector@middlebury.edu

Major: Geography

Hometown: Devon, PA

Pets: Labradoodle named Summit, RIP fishies

Favorite Traditional Jewish dish: Is that even a question? My mother’s homemade matzah ball soup with the works, obvi.

Israel Chair

557628_590216264351395_2072125059_n
Jonah Simon ’18: jlsimon@middlebury.edu

Major: Undeclared

Hometown: Needham, MA

Pet: I had a fish once.

Jewish Dish: Latkes

 Treasurer

IMG_8280

Ilana Gratch ’16: igratch@middlebury.edu

Major: Psychology

Hometown: Larchmont, NY

Pets: Love you forever Leo RIP

Favorite Traditional Jewish Dish: Challahhhh

Social Chairs

L1000392

Rachel Copulsky ’16: rcopulsky@middlebury.edu

Major: Psychology

Hometown: New York City

Pets?: Willie Goodman

Favorite Traditional Jewish dish: Seltzer

 

zak_fisher

Sammy-The-Cat

Zak Fisher ’16: zfisher@middlebury.edu

Major: Political Science

Hometown: Las Vegas, NV

Pets: One adorable and lovable cat named Sammy. He is a good cat and a sincere soul.

Favorite Traditional Jewish dish: Challah

Master of the Web

IMG_2278

IMG_2800

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aaron de Toledo ’16: adetoledo@middlebury.edu

Major: Econ

Hometown: Los Angeles

Pets: Fredrick Jr. and Ginger

Favorite Traditional Jewish dish: Matzah Brei

Freshman Liaisons

IMG_0368

Sara Dohan ’17: sdohan@middlebury.edu

Major: Joint Environmental Studies and History Major

Hometown: Lexington, MA

Pets?: One dog (Bilbo) and one cat (Nina)

Favorite Traditional Jewish dish: Flourless chocolate cake for Passover or challah French toast on Shabbat

Noah Liebmiller ’17: nliebmiller@middlebury.edu

Past President:

Molly Kaminsky ’15: mkaminsky@middlebury.edu

1485110_10201979596634151_7661816557929773006_n

Molly is a past president and senior hailing from Short Hills, New Jersey. She is Biochemistry major with a minor in Mathematics, and plans on taking a gap year before heading off to Medical School. In her spare time, Molly enjoys playing rugby with the Middlebury College Women’s Rugby Club, composing music on the piano, and making bad puns. Her upper west side/west palm beach Bubbe alter-ego is Myrtle.