Peer Writing Mentors

MacKenzie Stephens

My name is McKenzie Stevens and I am from Vail, Colorado.  I was born and raised in Vail along with my twin brother Jonathan and my little sister Madison.  Growing up in a mountain community, my brother, sister and I all experienced very active childhoods.  In middle school I was a gymnast, played volleyball, basketball, hockey, and ran track.  As I entered high school and my athletic career became more competitive, I began to focus on the sports I was most passionate about. I drove down to Denver to play on an all girls AAA hockey team while continuing to participate in co-ed hockey, soccer, cross country, and track at my high school.  I am thankful I was provided with the opportunity to play so many sports I truly enjoyed, as well as the focus and discipline I gained from such a hectic high school schedule. Hockey is my passion and I continue to play here at Middlebury, although it’s not quite the same without my 6’ 3” brother backing me up on the blue line. While I no longer run competitively, I am an avid participant in our local summer trail running series.  The series includes trails ranging from 6 to 15 miles and often climb around 2 to 3 thousand feet in elevation.  My mother is a Ski School supervisor and also works with the Bravo Vail Valley Music Festival, both careers that provide unique and interesting experiences for our family.  My father is a representative for Ikon in the surrounding mountain regions, a job that allows him to travel to the different ski resorts quite often.  Besides being outdoors and leading an active life style my favorite creative outlet is painting.   I look forward to working with each of you as your peer writing tutor and can’t wait to see how each of your unique backgrounds add to the class.

Students

McKenzie's Students


Haley MacKeen

My name is Haley MacKeen and I grew up in Antigonish, Nova Scotia. I have three siblings – a thirty-one year old brother, a twenty seven year old sister, and an eighteen-year-old brother. I am also the proud aunt of a gorgeous four-year-old girl, Kayla. My parents are absolutely incredible people; my father worked as a surveyor in Alberta for most of his life but four years ago he decided to come home for good and open a restaurant. My mother worked as a correctional officer in the Northwest Territories and then a city police officer in New Brunswick until she moved home where she is now a letter carrier. As a family we love to spend time at the beach and the lakes outside of our town. We are also a huge hockey family; my grandfather had the opportunity to play in the NHL as a goaltender but chose to stay home and take care of his five sisters after his father passed away. Both of my parents grew up playing hockey, as well as my two brothers. My grandfather took a special liking to me as a baby so he had me on the ice as soon as I could walk. He also got me into a myriad of other sports like baseball, lacrosse, tennis, swimming, tae kwon do, and even darts. This athleticism helped me stay focused in the classroom, which in turn allowed me to leave home to attend a private school in Concord, Massachusetts when I was fifteen. At Middlesex I played hockey and softball and tried to get involved in everything I could find time for. The education and experiences I gained in high school fueled my desire to stay in the U.S. and continue playing in college, which eventually lead me to Middlebury. Unfortunately my hockey career ended because of an injury last season, but I’ve come to realize that the opportunities Middlebury has to offer are endless. I can’t wait to experience this class as a Peer Writing Tutor and see what is in store for my junior year.

Students

Haley's Students



Comments are closed.