Schedule and assignments

We will meet every Monday and Wednesday in Hillcrest 103 (‘The Orchard’)

Monday, September 12 – an introduction to EC265

Wednesday, September 14 – questions about global warming

Monday, September 19 – ethics, the environment, and what we value

  • Goodstein, Chapter 2
  • McKibben, Chapter 1

Wednesday, September 21 – externalities and ‘the tragedy of the commons’

Monday, September 26 – the efficiency standard

Wednesday, September 28 – the safety standard

Related reading:

Friday, September 30 – First problem set due

Monday, October 3 – the sustainability standard (part 1)

Tuesday, October 4, 4:30 PM, the Orchard – Middlebury-Monterey lecture.  “What Environmentalists Should Know about Economics.”  Jason Scorse, associate professor and chair of the International Environmental Policy Program at the Monterey Institute of International Studies.

Wednesday, October 5 – Visit from Jason Scorse – on well being, income and how we live

Wednesday, October 5 (recommended) 7PM, Dana Auditorium – Mann vs. Ford

Monday, October 10 – the sustainability standard (part 2)

  • Goodstein, Chapter 6, sections 6.5 – 6.7 and Appendix 6A

Monday, October 10 (recommended) 7PM, 220 McCardell Bicentennial Hall – “Happiness, Work and Stress,” with John de Graaf and Laura Musikanski

Wednesday, October 12

  • Goodstein, Chapter 7 – ecological sustainability
  • Betting on the Planet.’ John Tierney – The New York Times (December 2nd, 1990)

Friday, October 14 – Second problem set due (pass-fail)

Monday, October 17 – Mid-term exam.  7PM – 10PM, Axinn Auditorium (Exam review session during regular class period.)

Wednesday, October 19 – discussion of research project

Monday, October 24

  • Fall break

Wednesday, October 26 – measuring benefits of environmental protection

  • Goodstein, Chapter 8

Monday, October 31 – measuring costs of environmental protection

  • Goodstein, Chapter 9

Wednesday, November 2 – benefit-cost in practice

  • Goodstein, Chapter 10

Monday, November 7 – is more really better?

Wednesday, November 9 – time for working on projects

Monday, November 14 – the theory of incentive-based regulation

Wednesday, November 16 – the practice of incentive-based regulation

Monday, November 21 – the practice of incentive-based regulation (continued)

Tuesday, November 22 – Draft of projects/papers due

Wednesday, November 23 – Thanksgiving Break

Monday, November 28 – on food and equity in a local economy: in-class visit from Will Stevens of Golden Russet Farm

  • McKibben, Chapter 2

Wednesday, November 30 – promoting clean technology

Friday, December 2 – Fourth problem set due (peer-review)

Monday, December 5 – poverty, population and the environment

  • Goodstein, Chapter 20
  • McKibben, Chapter 5

Wednesday, December 7 – presentation of projects

Final exam – Sunday, December 18, 9:00 – 12:00 AM, Hillcrest 103 (‘The Orchard’)



Leave a Reply